He-e-e-ere’s j0nny5!

Hey all!  Right now I’m just another DM in the storm of internet virtuosos who thinks he knows something about D&D 4e.

Let me state right up front that I am a strong supporter of On-the-Fly DMing.  I’ve played long enough to learn that nothing goes as planned.  Never begin an adventure with nothing prepared, never with too much.  Good D&D is the balance of the worlds.  I’ll get into all that later.

The goal here is to have a place to state my piece about Dungeons & Dragons 4e and its current trends on the net.  I won’t just repeat what the 4e  internet greats have to say.  I may expand, or contradict, but will usually try for my own goodness.

Look forward to all sorts of great crafts, like how to make an epic $10 game board, dungeon walls, and more!

I generally write my own adventures, so I might as well post those as well.  I’ll post adventures up after I’ve run them, with notes on how it went and how you could make it better.

Lastly, why should you care what I have to say about D&D?  Since 4e came out, I’ve been a little obsessed.  I’ll admit it.  Last year I overdid it a bit.  For about 6 months I ran a group on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Sundays… playing in a group on Thursdays.  The Wednesdays was Encounters, of which I ran 54 weeks in a row.  I’ve run most D&D Game Day games in my home town.  My Sunday group has gone from 1-30, and is currently now at 20 again.  I currently only run two games a week, Encounters and my Sunday game, but I still play on Monday nights too.  I’ve learned all DM’s are better when they can play too.

Anyway, so I’ve run a lot of games… so what?  Here’s the kicker.  Every player has told me I’m the best DM they’ve ever known.  I’m not bragging, just stating.  I know inside I’m nowhere near Chris Perkins level, and probably not Sly Flourish either.  But I read, I listen, I adapt, and I learn.  That’s the best thing a DM can do… constantly learn, constantly strive for better.

So stay, listen, read, and learn.  I’ll post as often as I can, once a week at least.

About j0nny_5

Mid-thirties and work a full-time job in beautiful northern Colorado. In my free time I play D&D, video games, and walk my two beautiful Bouvier des Flandres.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He-e-e-ere’s j0nny5!

  1. boccobsblog says:

    Good post. I’m a plan-everything, stat-and-map-out-everything DM, so I look forward to learning to relax a bit with this blog.

Leave a Reply

