Back Story: Part 2

Thanks for reading!  In my previous post, I gave a pretty detailed background for the basis of my campaign.  Today, briefly, the reasons why.

Once again, this is all so when I post my adventures, there’s some reference.  This blog isn’t about my campaign.  I know you’re probably not too interested in my world, but below you will find some great insight into campaign beginnings in general.

Three Dragons:

By removing dragons from the world of Dungeons & Dragons, my players learned the most important fact of all about my campaign.  This is my world.  Whatever they know about D&D can be tossed out the window; heck, White is a good dragon.  I’m running with experienced players,  many are DM’s in their own right.  I wanted to set the precedent that in my world, their meta-gaming probably won’t work.

The Blood of All Dragons:

A basis for all power sources in the game.  The Blood represents how the players can do what they do.  It sets them apart from the rest of the world as heroes.  It also sets the groundwork for my method of running magic items.  I’ll talk more about items in a future post.

Agents: The agents of the Dragons are few, but everywhere.  The Dragons can command them at-will.  Once you’ve received the Blood, you are bound to that Dragon.  This allows for character death to work in the world and for new players to be introduced pretty easily.  It also allows for super-powered villains.  All new (not original) players begin with this point-of-origin.  How a player received the Blood must be accounted for in their character bio.

Born of Dragons:

By having the players begin the campaign as one consciousness, spread over many, I have given them reason to live.  When players die, they sometimes see it as an opportunity to abandon their old characters and start-up something new.  I’m fine with that, but I wanted to create a story element that would discourage it.  Only the original team has access to this point-of-origin, which will have in-game story elements.

I also began the campaign at level 16.  I wanted to represent the power of the Dragons as something magnificent.

Suri:

I love companion characters.  When I began this campaign, we only had four players, lacking a controller, so I made Suri that controller.  Using the monster builder, I gave her some pretty great powers.  By making her a six-year-old girl she became a vulnerable figure of a daughter, instead of a powerful revered mother.  Players rotate who plays her each week and are encouraged to play her “true-neutral.”  She won’t go so far as to attack her own party, but she won’t help if things are going well.  Every player likes Suri, that’s the point.

The Quest:

In the very first session we played, Suri told the players their quest:  Find and convince/force White to become a humanoid and defeat Black.  Players like to know what their goal is.  In this case, their goal is a little grey.  Remember, White is the good Dragon.  This quest also leads directly into the next campaign, White vs. Black.  Yeah, I’m planning that far in advance.

Ok, we’re pretty much caught up, except that my players have gained four levels since we began.  Next, I’ll talk about Story Arcs, how I build them, and how those four levels have fit in so far.  Again, thanks for reading!

About j0nny_5

Mid-thirties and work a full-time job in beautiful northern Colorado. In my free time I play D&D, video games, and walk my two beautiful Bouvier des Flandres.
This entry was posted in My Campaign and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

