Review: X-treme Dungeon Mastery (Buy This Book)

I’ve been talking a lot about my home campaign lately, so here’s something different, a book review.

I remember when I first picked up “The Dungeon Alphabet” in my local comic shop and started thumbing through it…

A is for Altars, B is for Books, C is for Caves… Ooh, this is pretty cool.

D is for Doors, E for Echoes… Kobolds, Pools, Statues… Traps.

This book is awesome.


The Dungeon Alphabet from Goodman Games is probably the most used book in my D&D collection.  The hand-drawn, black and white pages are filled with two things, fantasy art and tables. What’s not to love?

The tables vary according to their subject and many entries have more than one table.  “B for Books” has two tables, one is eighteen entries (3d6) of special properties a book may have, the other is simply titled “One Hundred Book Titles”.  The table for “Statues” has you roll 3d20 to determine; 1) Figure Depicted, 2) Made From, and 3) Special Properties.  The tables are easy to read, quick and concise.  It’s generally pretty easy to skim and cherry pick if you don’t want to roll for a random effect.

I use this book to flesh out my adventures, spice up published adventures, react to players curveballs, generate ideas, and overall improve my game.  It’s $10 price tag makes it a must for every Dungeon Master.

Do you have this book?  What do you use it for?  What other books do you use?

About j0nny_5

Mid-thirties and work a full-time job in beautiful northern Colorado. In my free time I play D&D, video games, and walk my two beautiful Bouvier des Flandres.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: X-treme Dungeon Mastery (Buy This Book)

  1. mrallie says:

    What a coincidence! I just purchased this a couple days ago. I adore it; I think it will make a fine addition to the table for those things that just come up during play. And it’s a great read, too; lots of inspiration for an imaginative DM!

    • j0nny_5 says:

      Thanks for reading! You’re right on about the ideas generator, I’ve brought it to bed a number of times, to reread it, and I absorb something new every time.

Leave a Reply

