Non-Player Character Cards (NPCC’s)

Last night I ran the first session of the new Encounters season, the Dark Legacy of Evard.  This new adventure seems of higher quality than the rest.  The maps are bigger, the adventure book is thicker and the matte finish cover is actually stapled on this time.

The players begin the adventure in an inn, as travellers trying to pass through the town of Duponde.  The inn is littered with NPC’s; a trio of dwarves, a noble in robes and his halfling assistant, the innkeeper, the barkeep, and the town marshal.  Many of these characters have bios in this new adventure, each with the same list of information:

  • Key Traits
    • This is where you get an overview of the person; who he is inside, as well as how others might view him.
  • Goal
    • This gives you an idea of what they hope to achieve more than anything else.
  • Motivation
    • Akin to their goal, the motivation is why they have that goal.
  • Fears
    • Inner and outer influences come into play here.  Fearing the mob because of gambling debts is different than “fear of commitment”, but both would be listed here.
  • Weaknesses
    • Inner traits that do more harm than good would fall into this category.  Ignorance, impatience, guilt, habits, etc…
  • Mannerisms and Physical Characteristics
    • What the character looks like, how they talk, how they act.

I felt I had a pretty good grasp of each character after reading each of their characteristics.  I also felt these bios were a little long-winded, not conducive to on the fly gaming.  Maybe they felt the full divulgence of information was necessary, but it got me thinking about how I could do the same thing, with far fewer words.

Figured I’d continue the bar scene with the addition of the minstrel and the bouncer.  I was about to try this with Open Office, but then remembered we’re 4e players.  We like our formatted boxes.  So once again, I turned to Power2ool.com and found an NPC fits perfectly into an item card.

What do you think?  Quick and to the point was my goal.  Thought it’d be cool have a deck of cards like these, you could have instant NPC’s for any scene, but you’d have to be able to read it quick-like, while you’re players are watching.

I plan on eventually whipping out a lot of these, want to see ’em?  You could subscribe!

About j0nny_5

Mid-thirties and work a full-time job in beautiful northern Colorado. In my free time I play D&D, video games, and walk my two beautiful Bouvier des Flandres.
This entry was posted in DM Advice and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Non-Player Character Cards (NPCC’s)

  1. 4649matt says:

    We have been spoiled with formatting in this edition and you have found a way to spoil me further! Good call.

  2. Sully says:

    Those look great! We are spoiled with the formatted boxes. Power2ool is a great resource. I’m looking forward to seeing more of these from you and making a bunch myself!

    • j0nny_5 says:

      Thanks for the input! I’ve already used NPC cards in play and can attest that they work quite well. My brain has been programmed by the formatting, it makes it easy to scan these cards in game.

Leave a Reply

